Christian Death’s Only Theatre of Pain To Be Reissued With Bonus 7″

Christian Death Only Theatre of Pain Via Frontier Records:
The founding fathers of American goth-rock, Christian Death released their debut, Only Theatre of Pain, on Frontier Records in March 1982, and that landmark album has had an enormous influence on goth, death-rock, dark-wave, metal and even industrial music scenes all over the world, shaping the approach of more bands than can be counted. Led by vocalist and founder Rozz Williams, the Christian Death of Only Theatre of Pain included guitarist Rikk Agnew, fresh out of The Adolescents, bassist James McGearty, drummer George Belanger and backing vocals from Superheroines leader (and Rozz’s future wife), Eva O as well as performance artist Ron Athey. It was this line-up, with its dirgy, effects-laden guitar riffs and ambient horror-soundtrack synths, that crystalized the ominous post-punk sound that has established this album as the ultimate archetype of goth sensibility. Genre touchstones include “Romeo’s Distress,” “Spiritual Cramp” and “Mysterium Iniquitatis.” This reissue features Rozz Williams’s original hand-drawn art and calligraphy, and an additional period photo by Ed Colver, all set against a parchment-like background. Frontier has digitally remastered the audio for both the LP and CD, the latter containing the Deathwish EP as a bonus. The limited first pressing of the LP, itself on violet vinyl, will include a 7″ black-vinyl single containing two never-before-released tracks. Pre-order your copy here for $14. Shipping begins 05/10/11.

    This entry was posted in Colored Vinyl, Metal Records, Punk Records, Vinyl Reissues and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.